I’m baaaaack!

I’m back bitches!! After a 4 month “break” from Crossfit, I returned to the box this week. Terrified and afraid I was going to die my first wod back, I surprised myself that I could actually still kip, still bust out TTB, and still power clean like I hadn’t left at all. I told coach Josh that I was scared shitless and he said no worries, it’s like riding a bike. A very painful bike. He was right.

The 4 months I have been off, I have really focused on yoga. Stretching, strengthening, and really finding my inner peace…and my passion. I LOVE yoga. Because I’m good at it. Well, my flexibility comes in handy. I have seen the most progress in my forearm balances.

photo

I have also been keeping up with workouts, but haven’t picked up a barbell since May.

First wod back was the Lurong Living Challenge workout #3. (Level 2)

Asceding Ladder – 3, 6, 9, 12, 15, 18, 21, 24, 27, etc.
Wall Balls (12)
Box jumps (16)
Deadlifts (65)

my score: 270 Reps

I was totally shocked that I didn’t black out or pass out during this wod. Made it to the 21’s.

photo 1

First one back and I feel like I did pretty damn good!

Second wod back was the Lurong Living Challenge workout #2. (Level 2)

AMRAP 9 Mins:

20 Ground to Overhead (45)
7 bar facing burpees
15 Ground to Overhead (55)
7 bar facing burpees
10 Ground to Overhead (65)
7 bar facingburpees
5 Ground to Overhead (75)
7 bar facing burpees

my score: 61 reps.

I finished the 10 Ground to OH and squeezed in 2 burpees. My heart almost exploded out of my chest. But I felt amazing. I missed that feeling.

I have also missed the community, the cheering on, the encouragement and the many “welcome back Yates” I have received. I met a new “burpee buddy” and his name is Johnny Angel. Have only wodded with him twice, but seems like we both push each other, which will definitely help get my ass in gear.

So that’s about it, starting the wedding planning too…..so stoked about that. 7 months and counting! Andy and I have a new motto – Sweatin’ for the weddin’. Let’s get buff.

Leave a Reply

